Beating the DNF blues AKA Red River Series by Victoria James

I had 2 books I started this past weekend that I DNF’d at about 55%.  They just did not work for me.  I got an email from Entangled with some of their new releases and lo and behold, The Best Man’s Baby (A Red River Book)  by Victoria James jumped right out at me.  I grabbed it, knowing that it was the second book in the series. Now, normally I am absolutely anal about reading books in their intended order. Apparently, I was so desperate for a good book that I threw out all of my “reading rules” and went for it.

Let me tell you, I was not one bit sorry I did it.  I fell in love with Jake and Claire and their story.  But let me backtrack a bit here.  I went back and read the the first book in the series, A Risk Worth Taking: A Red River Series Book.  

Riskworthedit.jpg Blurb:

 Interior designer Holly Carrington worked hard for her success. Then tragedy struck, leaving Holly the sole guardian of her infant niece. Now she’s swapped her designer purse for a diaper bag, and is going ahead with plans to renovate—and sell—her childhood home in Red River. But facing her past also means coming face-to-face with Quinn Manning all over again…Quinn was the object of her girlhood crush—and heartbreak— and is more gorgeous than ever. He’s also the only person qualified to oversee the renovation. Now they’re butting heads every step of the way… and their attraction is more electrifying than ever! But once the house is sold, Holly needs to return to her real life. And falling for Quinn all over again is one risk she can’t take…

Quinn is absolutely delicious. I loved the history he and Holly had between them. The first two books the H/hs have a long history with each other and everyone grew up with each other.  Teenage crushes everywhere!   It’s nice to have the relationships/friendships already established and it really deepened the connection that they had with each other.  Quinn had a special connection with baby Ella from the very beginning and it was nice to see how that helped Quinn move on from some past experiences.  Loved these two and I’m kicking myself for not reading this first because I would’ve enjoyed Quinn and Holly more in the second book.

Speaking of the second book… The Best Man’s Baby (A Red River Book)

bestmanbabyedit The Blurb:

Florist Claire Holbrook has always played by the rules her entire life, but breaks them to spend one night with sexy lone wolf Jake Manning, a man she’s adored since she was a teenager. Six weeks later things get complicated when she discovers they created a bond that will last a lifetime…Jake has never played by the rules. Getting Minister Holbrook’s daughter pregnant wasn’t part of any life plan, but he won’t run from his responsibilities. He’ll step up and be the best man he can, even if he doesn’t have a clue where to begin. The more time he spends with Claire, though, the more he wants her, and the harder it is to get close because that would mean sharing the one thing he hasn’t with anyone–the truth and his heart. 

Oh Jake…you big stud.  Jake certainly lives up to his bad boy reputation in the beginning of this one!  But, you gotta love Claire, she truly left him speechless when she told him that she was pregnant with his baby.  Seriously, that scene… I would love to tell you about it but it’s worth you reading for yourself.  Despite her upbringing, Claire is no shrinking violet!  She is a strong and confident woman and she owns her own floral design business.  I really liked her and I loved how she didn’t back down from Jake.  Now, to Jake’s credit, once he found out he was going to be a Daddy, he pulled his head from his ass and began working towards making Claire his.  The one thing that really struck me with both of these books was that our H/h’s all had some issues to deal with.  I mean, these weren’t crazy issues, they were real life issues.  The way Ms. James presents them, it creates a wonderful texture and layers to the characters.  It just sucked me in and endeared me to Quinn and Jake, especially.

Both books are 5 stars.  These are contemporary romances with some sexytimes!  I would not call them erotic but they are sexy and steamy nonetheless!!

So yeah.  Got get this series!  Next up is the 3rd brother, Evan.  Ummm, I need Evan’s story, like, NOW!!!  There is an excerpt from it in Jake and Claire’s book. Please, please, please Ms. James… I want Evan’s story.  PRONTO, STAT, ASAP!!! 😉

Buy it: 

Book 1: A Risk Worth Taking

Amazon / Nook / iTunes

Book 2 : The Best Man’s Baby

Amazon / Nook / iTunes

More about Victoria James:

Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

Tell me how you really feel...

